CALL TODAY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
505-865-9696
OPEN PRACTICE AREAS
How Long do I Have to File an Injury Claim?

How Long do I Have to File a Personal Injury Claim in New Mexico?

When personal injuries occur, it can impact every area of your life. You may be unable to work or even perform simple chores around your home, while facing the prospect of endless doctors appointments and medical treatments. During this time, it is important to be aware that you do have several years to file a claim, which you will need to adequately assess the damages you suffer and any long terms costs you are likely to incur.

Taking the Time to Build a Personal Injury Claim

Under the New Mexico Statutes , there are statutes of limitations involved in all civil matters, which is the amount of time granted in which to file your claim. In general, you are allotted three years starting from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party. However, there are some exceptions:

● If your claim is against a government entity, you must file a notice of tort claim within 90 days, with two years to file the case in court;

● The statue of limitations is a mandatory requirement which a claim must be filed in the correct court with the proper jurisdiction so it is important to know when the time period runs on your case.

This may seem like a long time, but it is often necessary to determine the maximum amount of medical recovery you are likely to make and any long terms costs or disabilities you may suffer.

Assessing medical expenses and other damages caused by the fault of another

Settling your claim too early in the aftermath of a personal injury can leave you facing heavy out of pocket costs in the years to come. These include:

● Physical rehabilitation and ongoing medical treatment;

● Modifications to your home or vehicle, as the result of lingering disabilities;

● Lost wages and job retraining, if you are unable to return to your current field;

● Added help around your home, in the event you are unable perform daily chores.

According to Pain Science , recovery from even minor muscle strains or sprains can take up to a year or more, during which time overexertion could result in lasting impairment. It is important to follow all of your doctor’s instructions regarding follow up care and activity restrictions during the recovery period. Within 10 to 18 months after your accident, you should have a better idea of any lasting consequences your injuries are likely to cause.

New Mexico Attorney David C. Chavez is there to help

At The Law Firm of David C. Chavez, LLC , we know that recovery after an accident can be a long process. We are here to guide you during this time, while developing your case into a strong legal case against those responsible. To discuss your case, call now into the Law Firm of David C. Chavez and request a free consultation today.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information